The transition to NetApp MS Azure AD B2C is complete. If you missed the pre-registration, you will be invited to register at next log in.
Please note that access to your NetApp data may take up to 1 hour.
To learn more, read the FAQ and watch the video.
Need assistance? Complete this form and select “Registration Issue” as the Feedback Category.

Microsoft Virtualization Discussions

SnapManager for Hyper-V

igor_karasik

When we do snapshot with SnapManager for Hyper-V we always receive two snapshots: one with regular name and second with regular name + "_backup"

(see attached screenshot).

Anybody know which snapshot we need to use if we just connect LUN, without using restore option from SnapManager for Hyper-V?

That is the difference between these two snapshots ?

Thanks !

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

amritad

Hi

Are you looking at a mount operation? In that case you would need to select the snapshot with "_backup" suffix. The exact steps are available in section 5.8 of the SMHV Best Practices Guide. Here'e the location for that:

http://www.netapp.com/us/library/technical-reports/tr-3805.html

REgards

Amrita

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

amritad

Hi

Are you looking at a mount operation? In that case you would need to select the snapshot with "_backup" suffix. The exact steps are available in section 5.8 of the SMHV Best Practices Guide. Here'e the location for that:

http://www.netapp.com/us/library/technical-reports/tr-3805.html

REgards

Amrita

View solution in original post

igor_karasik

Thanks !

Do you know that is the difference between these two snapshots ?

barve

The two snapshots are created in response to "auto-recovery" done by Hyper-V VSS writer during VM backup.

Hyper-V writer creates a software of snapshot of all the VHDs inside the VM (using system provider). This is captured in the first snapshot on the storage system. The applications and OS in the VM is not frozen when the snapshot is created on storage system. So, later, VSS asks us to mount the first snapshot and the writer then does auto-recovery to revert the hardware snapshot to the software snapshot taken earlier. When auto-recovery is complete we take the second snapshot (_backup suffix).

Hence, the second snapshot should always be used for "connect" operations. The different between the two snapshots is essntially the auto-recovery changes.

Thanks,

Anagha

Announcements
NetApp on Discord Image

We're on Discord, are you?

Live Chat, Watch Parties, and More!

Explore Banner

Meet Explore, NetApp’s digital sales platform

Engage digitally throughout the sales process, from product discovery to configuration, and handle all your post-purchase needs.

NetApp Insights to Action
I2A Banner
Public