Network and Storage Protocols

User doesn't have write permissions for Home Directory

tjohnston1

I'm new to working with our NetApp.  I'm working on a project to migrate our File Server duties from Novell to our NetApp FAS2020.  I'm using a Windows Server 2003/2008 domain to replace other parts of the Novell server.

I've got some progress made on the Home drives for our users.  I've set up a CIFS home dir and created a few folders. I've been able to successfully access the home directory using the NTNaming convention: \\toaster\username.  It appears my test users are only able to write to their home directory if they're an admin that has permissions, or if I give "everyone" write permssions to the parent directory.  If I give "everyone" full access to the parent directory then the users could access each other's files.

How do I go about giving each user full access to their home directory without giving them access to everyone else's directories?

Along those same lines, is it possible to set permissions of sub directories independently of the parent?  I'd like to give everyone read access to a given share drive, but have a few select users with write permissions to specific sub directories that they provide content for.  With a Novell drive I'm able to change the rights of a specific file or folder, but I don't get that option when I right click on any of the NetApp directories.  Is there someway to give Domain Admins ability to change the permissions for a given share or directory by right clicking on that directory?

Thanks,

Tommy

3 REPLIES 3

adamfox

You want to use the cifs_homedir feature of ONTAP.  Then don't share out the other parts of the volume/qtree to the general user population (admins are ok).  By using this option, users will see a share with their username, but no one else's.

Here's the relevant section of the manual set to get you going.