Network and Storage Protocols

wrfile

RATNATHURAI

I am new to this netapp and like to edit host, snapmirror.conf files ect.

I like to use wrfile -a option becuase I can do one line at a time and it is safe.

How do I delete a line incase if it is wrong line?

For an example line 10 is rong and want to delete?

Can i do that using wrfile?

I noticed that I can access to those file using cifs share.

I read few people say that we can use text editor,

if i open that using text editor,What do i do after editing that , just click on save?

I will appreciate if you can help me on this.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

dawho1621

Hey Ratnathurai,

you ceertainly are able to edit the files by browsing to the CIFS share. open the file you want to edit with a text editor, modify the file and then save it back to its original location. ( I would recommend creating a copy of the original file before modifying it in case something goes wrong.)

Also, you can use rdfile at the command line to get a print out of the file you are looking to edit, copy the file output, edit it any way you like, and the use the wrfile command without any flags to copy the entire edited file back in place. (doing this will essentially replace the entire file though, and that can be dangerous if you are not careful. again, be sure you have a copy of the original.)

Cheers!

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

dawho1621

Hey Ratnathurai,

you ceertainly are able to edit the files by browsing to the CIFS share. open the file you want to edit with a text editor, modify the file and then save it back to its original location. ( I would recommend creating a copy of the original file before modifying it in case something goes wrong.)