ONTAP Discussions

0B Available on 3 LUNs - 8.1.1RC1 7-Mode FAS2240-2

FERRITERJ1

Yesterday we've had three of our LUNs report 0Bs available which is causing some of our VMs to become inacessible. A talk to with VMWare showed that the LUNs aren't able to connected to our ESXi hosts at all, likely because of this.

All LUNs are from the same vol and aggregate. 

Is there a possible way to reclaim some of the unused space in order to regain connectivity? Or some alternative way to access the data on the disks? My method of last resort would be to take one of the LUNs offline and delete it, but would that free up the space and allow the others to expand in size? Or would that even be worth it?

I'm very new to NetApp so sorry if these questions are beginner level!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Mjizzini

Delete snapshots of the volume if there are any.

To delete all Snapshot copies on a volume, use the -a parameter.

snap delete -a vol_name

If lun1 is not physically full, you can modify it to be thin provisioned.

If you have available or can free space  in the aggregate, you can grow the volume size.

vol size volx +200g

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12

TMACMD

Well...sounds like thin provisioning in place.

Check the SnapShots for each volume hosting a LUN. Possibly delete snapshots on volumes with LUNs

Look at the volumes on the aggregate:

vol show -aggregate aggrx -field size,avail,used,space-guarantee

Do any of the volumes show as "volume" ? those are thick.

You could change those to thin:

vol modify -volume xxx -space-guarantee none

You will also likely need to bring the LUNS online. They may have gone offline if they ran out of space.

FERRITERJ1

Thanks for the reply!

The command "vol" is not an available command.

This might sound stupid, but should I enter a command to enter a different area of the NetApp?

And it looks like LUN 1 is Thick Provisioned and LUN 2 and 3 are Thin.

TMACMD