ONTAP Discussions

FAS2240-2 Inaccessible Filer - HA Down

KamiMcLeod

Hi All

Really hoping someone can help here as I am very new to FAS

One of our arrays had a disk fail, so we replaced this last week, assigned ownership and assumed rebuild started, but since this point:

1. We cannot CLI to the filer (1A) hosting this LUN - it asks for credentials and then closes once we enter these

2. We now cannot GUI into the clustered pair - previously this was working partially - could not access disks or aggregates for the filer with the dead disk - now it sits there "authenticating to filer 1A" and never completes

3. Snapmirror between this filer (1A) and a partner unit (2A) has stopped

The disk that eventually died was in rebuild back in October - the filer started a repair of the disk and ground the systems to a halt - we lost CLI access then as well, clients very much noticed the rebuild process as their data was running slowly, but it restored itself eventually and since then we havent had any reports.

HA mode apparently has been offline since that point though which we were not alerted on.

1A
HA mode, but takeover of partner is disabled due to reason : status of backup mailbox is uncertain.

CLI from partner filer:
1B> cf monitor
current time: 27Dec2017 09:54:56
UP 68+07:35:13, partner '1A', CF monitor enabled
VIA Interconnect is up (link up), takeover capability on-line
partner may be down, last partner update TAKEOVER_ENABLED (20Oct2017 22:59:23)
takeover scheduled 00:00:15

1B> cf status
1A may be down, takeover will be initiated in 15 seconds.
VIA Interconnect is up (link up).

1B> cf hw_assist status
Local Node(1B) Status:
Active: 1B monitoring alerts from partner(1A)
port 4444 IP address 192.168.1.15
Partner Node(1A) Status:
Active: 1A monitoring alerts from partner(1B)
port 4444 IP address 192.168.1.14