ONTAP Discussions

Ontap 8.1 License questions - FAS2220

alan8086

Hello - I'm new to the NetApp world, hope you will forgive the base-ness of my questions.

My workplace has given me a FAS2220 controller plus two DS4246 disk shelves. To them, its old kit - replaced by newer Synology gear. To me, being a hardware geek, Its rather fascinating in what it does and how it works - plus I wish to use it as a basis of study so I can get Netapp/Ontap SAS technologies on my CV and move on from my current IT support role.

I was given the unit on condidtion that I wipe the drives. 3 of the drives had been carelessly discarded by a colleague - plus the disk shelves had been de cabled. I could have re cabled it but the UPS it all powers back to requres a 16amp supply which is not available - so I elected to wipe the drives 12 at a time, by performing a system reset - reboot/ctrl-C/option 4.

I discovered that this obviously wipes out the factory configuration - plus any installed License Keys that come pre installed.

Although my bosses boss gave the go ahead for me to take possession of the FAS2220, I'm not sure his attention span will extend to digging out license keys etc. I have opened up a support account with NetApp using the controller serial number - the account has the company name associated with it but no licensing details, or any details specific to this hardware. Does this mean it was bought via another vendor/out of contract ect. What CAN Ontap do without the License Code? Is there a legit procedure to get my own company/name accociated with this hardware? My boss will provide email references if required?

I've read here:

https://kb.netapp.com/app/answers/answer_view/a_id/1002755/~/what-are-the-software-licensing-and-packaging-requirements-in-data-ontap-8.2