ONTAP Discussions

Reclaiming Space on Netapp - Filer End

SK7777

Hello Everyone,

I am very new to NetApp Technologies and learning things.

In Our Current Scenario -

NetApp filer is configured as backup destination for one of our Enterprise Backup Tool that we use for primary snapshots backups ( wherein VSS writers are used for snapshots ). Whenever backup retention reaches it will delete all old backups and its relevant snapshots to free space on filer accordingly. However , NetApp filer is taking sometime to show freed up space.

Is it true "NetApp controller will take sometime at the volume level to get the blocks reclaimed but the messaging either on command prompt or via System Manager should show freed up space immediately"

Regards,

SK

7 REPLIES 7

neric

Hello SaiKishore,

When you mention that it is "taking some time to show freed up space", are you referring to System Manager?  System Manager always takes a few seconds to refresh.  For large deletes I have seen the space gradually show as available over a bit of time (a few minutes maybe) but nothing that would cause any operational issues.  The CLI commands are typically more accurate on an instantaneous basis but the delta is not usually that great.

Is there an operational issue that you are trying to solve?

Eric

SK7777

Thanks for the reply.

NHANAS_RS