ONTAP Hardware

DS4246 - Reset to Defaults without credentials

KosstDukat

Hello all,

Hoping someone has the answer I’m looking for.  My company has pulled a few storage arrays from a stockroom and asked me to configure them to work as network storage arrays.  I’m new to working with this hardware so, naturally, I took to Google.  It helped me with some of them but I still have one straggler - a NetApp DS4246.  I have it powered on and connected to the network, and it is reachable but I don’t have login credentials for it.  Unfortunately, the documentation has been lost to time so I’m trying to do a reset of the hardware so I can start from scratch.  Sadly, while Google had a lot to say, none of it pertained to my situation as they all said how to reset it once you have access to the system, which I don’t.  Is there a way to manually reset the hardware to defaults?  I don’t care about the data, I’d be deleting it anyway even if I could get in.  Thanks for any help you can provide!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Ontapforrum

NetApp provides a method for resetting the root/admin account password if it isn't currently known.

However, it is not clear from your reply whether the DiskShelf is connected to Controller running 7-mode or cDOT. In any case, I have given links for both. Just follow the steps in the kb, once the "root" (7-mode) or "admin" (cDOT) password is reset, you will be able to gain access and set it up for archival/storage purpose as you desire.

How to reset root password from boot menu ONTAP 7-Mode
https://kb.netapp.com/Advice_and_Troubleshooting/Data_Storage_Software/ONTAP_OS_7_Mode/How_to_reset_root_password_from_boot_menu_ONTAP_7-Mode

How to reset admin password from boot menu in cDOT/ONTAP:
https://kb.netapp.com/Advice_and_Troubleshooting/Data_Storage_Software/ONTAP_OS/How_to_reset_admin_password_from_boot_menu_in_ONTAP