ONTAP Hardware

Network Appliance DS14 MK2

SCOOBYHUSKY

i currently acquired a Network Appliance DS14 MK2. Im current having raid problems with it but, i think it maybe a setting im doing wrong. This is any type of raid. ~250mb/s read  ~12mb/s write. I do have all chache settings on. I also have the san directly connected to the server via fiber to a hba. not sure if thats my problem or not. I am a complete noob to san's. we were using nas set ups but they were kinda slow and we were restricted by 1gb links and such. we are currently moving to fiber soon but i wanted this set up while i have it.  I can see the disk in windows just fine. They act right in a simple format. I am using windows disk management to do the raids. I did see people use putty and such to configure there san but i cant do that due to no ip for san.

• Windows 2008 R2 Sp1
  • 2x Xeon E5420 
  • 32gb ddr2
  • 10k 168gb raid 1
  • Emulex LPE1150-E
  • Network Appliance DS14 MK2
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

ivisinfo

This is totally unchartered ground. NetApp shelves (DS14 and others) are always ment to be connected to NetApp "controllers" and the controller is then connected to the SAN. The shelf is not directly connected to SAN/servers.

Of course if you go hacking the shelf, you may see FC devices (disks and shelf environmental services) and manage to use them somehow. But my guess is that this would not be open and by standards, it is NetApp internal and you will not find any documentation or guide. The disks are also pre-labeled. It would be an interesting project though.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

grahamhand

Hi Garrett: