Active IQ Unified Manager Discussions

Netapp-harvest + Graphite + grafana, throughput is way off

DingbatCA

This is an odd one, and I must admit I am very new to this whole tool set.

Followed this install process

http://blog.pkiwi.com/netapp-advanced-performance-monitoring-with-harvest-graphite-and-grafana/

System is running RedHat 7.1 64X

Here is what I am seeing.  Throughput for everything seems to be badly off.

In Graphite I see the correct speeds.  But in grafana, everything is off.  As best I can tell this seems to apply to all throughput values.  So NFS/CIFS/FCP/Disk...graphite.pnggrafana.png

Any ideas?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

madden

Hi,

In the netapp-harvest.conf file you will find a default key/value like this:

normalized_xfer   = mb_per_sec   

What it will do is normalize all throughput numbers to MB/s.  So in Graphite and Grafana you are viewing in MB/s and not that of the native Data ONTAP counter manager counter being graphed.  I found normalizing data to be a much easier way of working; you can always scale back to whatever unit you want if needed for your use case.

Regarding throughput being off, sometimes it is just user confusion because with cDOT the node that does the frontend protocol work is not necessarily the same that does the backend volume work.  Depending on the object you're looking at you may see frontend or backend numbers.  In the default "node" dashboard you will see "protocol backend drilldown" and then things like "FCP frontend drilldown" to show these both.