Data Backup and Recovery

Cloning databases from a snapshot backup to a different instance on a schedule

dopp10

Hi All,

I'm new to this netapp community.  The company I work for recently switched our SAN system to Netapp.  We are running Windows 2008 R2 servers, SQL 2008 R2 with snapdrive 6.3 and snapmanager 5.1.

We would like the ability to clone our databases from the latest snapshot backup and restore them to a different instance on a nightly basis as read only.  I know the GUI in SMSQL allows you to do exactly what I am talking about, but there is no place that I can find that allows you to schedule the job.  Ideally those clones would automatically just point to the latest nightly snapshot that is named ..._recent every night and all I would have to worry about is that the nightly snapshots happened successfully.

Can anyone help here?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

qzhang

OK, the current version of SmsqlJobLauncher.exe has limitation that it can only launch new-backup cmdlet. It will be updated to support all cmdlets with newer release.

For now, you can try to use

powershell.exe -PSConsoleFile "C:\Program Files\NetApp\SnapManager for SQL Server\SmsqlShell.psc1" -Command clone-backup -svr....

to see if this works or not.

Thanks, Qing

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

qzhang

You can schedule a clone operation yourself using windows task scheduler or SQL Agent job.

You can try to schedule a backup first to use as an example for how to run a schedule job using SMSQL powershell cmdlet. Use the same step as the backup job, but replace with a clone-backup powershell cmdlet. You can get cmdlet reference from IAG.

Thanks,

-Qing

dopp10