EF & E-Series, SANtricity, and Related Plug-ins

First storage installation - NetApp e-2824 - questions about iSCSI performance

CarlosCoque

Hi,

My name is Carlos and I'm a System Administrator at a payroll company in Canada.

Recently, we purchased a NetApp e-2824 to be connected to our 2 VMware servers in order to improve performance and availability.

However, when we finally finished the installation and started doing some testing we noticed that the performance was very low.

The SAN has 2 x controllers working in load balancing, and each of those has 2 x 10GB/s ports.

We basically connected that SAN to a 24 port x 1GB/s switch and connected our VMware servers 1GB/s ports to the same switch.

We also isolated this system in a specific VLAN with an IP addressing different from the other network connected to the same switch.

Below there is a summary of the connections:

SAN Controller A por e0a (10GB/s) <------------> Switch port (1GB/s)    [VLAN 2]    Switch port (1GB/s) <------------> VMware server 1 eth0

SAN Controller A por e0b (10GB/s) <------------> Switch port (1GB/s)    [VLAN 2]    Switch port (1GB/s) <------------> VMware server 1 eth1

SAN Controller B por e0a (10GB/s) <------------> Switch port (1GB/s)    [VLAN 2]    Switch port (1GB/s) <------------> VMware server 2 eth0

SAN Controller B por e0b (10GB/s) <------------> Switch port (1GB/s)    [VLAN 2]    Switch port (1GB/s) <------------> VMware server 2 eth1

We're using iSCSI and Jumbo Frames (in all equipment).

I believe the performance is low because we're using 1GB/s links among all equipment, but I'm not familiar with storage installations neither with iSCSI.

Anybody knows if there is any way to make this system perform good with the current hardware?

Or we'll have to upgrade all switch and server's NIC's to 10GB/s?

Thanks,

Carlos

12 REPLIES 12

AlexDawson

Hi Carlos,