Microsoft Virtualization Discussions

A request for Powershell Toolkit....

JGPSHNTAP

I've made this in the past, but i'm hoping we can make some headway on this Feature Request.

I've been an active user since PSTK 1.0, and i'm confused as the direction that was taken with cDOT.  I'm not a developer, but I'm hoping someone can shed some light on this.

For example, if we want to query a vserver for volumes that aren't part of drprotection I do something like this

C:\powershell> get-ncvol -Vserver vserver1 | select name,@{n='protection';e={$_.VolumeVserverDrProtectionAttributes.vserverdrprotection}} | ?
{$_.protection -ne "protected"}

That's all well in good, but I should ne able to pass this to an update command, not update-ncvol where we have to build queries to fix this.

Am I totally missing something here?

3 REPLIES 3

asulliva

Hello @JGPSHNTAP,

I'm not quite sure I understand your request.  I think what you're asking for is to have "Update-NcXXXXX" cmdlets for each of the properties associated with a volume (among other objects)?

If that's true, then I do sympathize with your sentiment as it would make the most sense from a usability perspective.  However, the ONTAP modules are created to mimic ZAPI functionality.  In this instance, these volume attributes are all updated by the "volume-modify-iter" ZAPI (which maps to the "Update-NcVol" cmdlet).

I can not (and will not try to) rationalize or justify the engineering decision behind this since I wasn't a part of it, but I do also empathize with the engineering team.  Having each of these be a separate cmdlet (really, multiple cmdlets, since there would be both a Get and Set/Update cmdlet, and in some cases a Remove too) would create a tremendous number of additional cmdlets, easily several hundred, which need to be individually maintained and updated.

Again, while I'm not defending the current status, it is quite easy to select the volumes using a query: