Microsoft Virtualization Discussions

Get-ncvol command to generate a list of offline volumes from multiple clusters and send a report.

RayR

Get-ncvol command to generate a list of offline volumes from multiple clusters and send a report.  I'm new to using powershell and would like to get some help on this. 

2 REPLIES 2

donny_lang

Do you have any code written yet that we could take a look at it and give feedback on? Some ideas to get you started:

1. Look at the "Add-NcCredential" cmdlet in the PowerShell Toolkit to cache credentials to clusters to make connecting to them easier when running scripts/functions (check out the Get-Help cmdlet to get more information, syntax, examples, etc. for cmdlets if you are not familiar with it already). 

2. You will need to use foreach loops to loop through a collection of your cluster hostnames. 

3. If you're not familiar with it already, look at the Where-Object cmdlet, which allows you to select objects from command output based on their properties (like the state of a volume, for example). Pipes are your friend! 

4. What format are you expecting this report to be in? If email, you can use the "Send-MailMessage" cmdlet to format and send the relevant output to you. 

Hope this helps - feel free to hit me up with any code that you're struggling with or any follow-up questions and I'll lend a hand. 

Donny

RayR

So I found this script for generating reports for snapshots. I figured I can use it as a template and modify the commands for generating reports for offline volumes from multiple clusters. I'll review the links you sent me foreach loops and where-object and paste the command here again. 

@"
===============================================================================
Title: Netapp Offline Volume notifications.ps1
Description: List offline volumes on the Netapp clusters.
Requirements: Windows Powershell and the Netapp Powershell Toolkit
Author: Ed Grigson