Microsoft Virtualization Discussions

Want to set volume parameters using PowerShell: convert_ucode, create_ucode

DLIVINGSTONNETAPP

Background:
This is my first attempt at PowerShell.  I am a UNIX sys admin accustomed to doing some shell scripting.
I'm completely new to anything object-oriented.

Problem:

I want to enable unicode support on all volumes except vol0, by setting convert_ucode and create_ucode to "on".
I have a variable $vols defined, as a listing of volume names on controller netapp1, excluding vol0:

PS C:\Windows\system32> $vols=get-navol |where {$_.Name -ne "vol0"} |select Name

PS C:\Windows\system32> $vols

Name
----
BCM_oracle_BCM_102_64
BCM_oracle_client_10x_64
BCM_oracle_stage
BCM_sapmnt_BCM_global
BCM_sapmnt_BCM_profile

My latest attempt to set the desired params is the following foreach loop, which produces
the errors shown following it:

PS C:\Windows\system32> foreach ($vol in $vols) {
>> set-navoloption $vol create_ucode on
>> set-navoloption $vol convert_ucode on
>> }
>>
Set-NaVolOption : No volume named '@{Name=BCM_oracle_BCM_102_64}' exists
At line:2 char:16
+ set-navoloption <<<<  $vol create_ucode on
    + CategoryInfo          : InvalidOperation: (netapp1:NaController) [Set-NaVolOption], EONTAPI_ENOENT
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : ApiException,DataONTAP.PowerShell.SDK.Cmdlets.Volume.SetNaVolOption

Set-NaVolOption : No volume named '@{Name=BCM_oracle_BCM_102_64}' exists
At line:3 char:16
+ set-navoloption <<<<  $vol convert_ucode on
    + CategoryInfo          : InvalidOperation: (netapp1:NaController) [Set-NaVolOption], EONTAPI_ENOENT
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : ApiException,DataONTAP.PowerShell.SDK.Cmdlets.Volume.SetNaVolOption

Set-NaVolOption : No volume named '@{Name=BCM_oracle_client_10x_64}' exists
At line:2 char:16
+ set-navoloption <<<<  $vol create_ucode on

I can assure the server that the volumes exist.  What am I missing?

Thanks,
David

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

FranciscoHH

Hi David.

You must use: