Network and Storage Protocols

Mixed & NTFS security styles not working for UNIX accounts

FIZEENETAPP

Hello friends,

I am a newbie to netapp.I am using simulaor running on Ontap 7.3.I have setup CIFS integrating Active directory using Kerberos authentication.I have shared some qtrees out of which some are in UNIX mode and some in Mixed.

I have created a qtree (named 'qtree2' and it is shared)and have given permission only to the Active directory user AD\grant2 .I have made the qtree security type to 'mixed'.I dont have any issues with logging to windows xp box in accessing the share.I also have a seperate Linux box running REDHAT 5 where i got 'Permission Denied'  i tried to login with the same name 'grant2' and same password .This user is a local user of the Linux box and this Linux box is not a part of the active directory domain.I tried to access the share(qtree2) .I turned on options cifs.trace_login to debug the issue.When i tried to login as a local linux user (grant2) to the storage box it gave me the following error.

[auth.trace.authenticateUser.loginTraceMsg:info]: AUTH: Error in passwd look up of uid 502 during login from 192.168.20.100.

where 192.168.20.100 is the IP address of the Redhat box.

UID 502 is the grant2 (local user of RedHAT box).

I beleive if the usernames don't match which the storage box knows we need to insert an entry in the usermap.cfg. In my case the user in the active directory domain and the local user in the Linux box are the same(includes username and password).Despite i inserted an entry in usermap.cfg.The entry is as follows

AD\"#grant2" <= grant2

And in another case if qtree (qtree1) is set to ntfs security style and trying to login from a Linux box it shows up the following error.