Network and Storage Protocols

Recommendations on how to host users shares on NetApp

ELIJAHMUHA

Hello All -

I am looking to roll out personal user shares for the users in our environment which I have done traditionally through AD and a basic Windows file share server.  I am new to NetApp and I understand that there is a way to leverage the NetApp to host these user shares (according to our sales rep) but I can't seem to find the info I am looking for as far as setup or best practice goes.  We have approximately 300 users and we are running our CIFS file share directly through the NetApp, and the space for the user shares will come from the same place.  What I am looking for is the best practice for hosting user shares through the NetApp or any recommendations on delpoying/maintaining user shares in a NetApp/Active Directory environment.  Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

3 REPLIES 3

nigelg1965

Hi

Briefly, I think the features that you would want to use for this are :

1. The home directories facility : This allows you to specify specific folder or folders (it will try them in order) to act in a special way, where a user will see a share with the same name as their AD user name.

ie On filer123 the admin sets the home directories value to /vol/homedirs (not a CIFS share, this is just the NetApp volume name), and creates a folder called aduser567 then if I'm user aduser567 I can see a share called \\filer123\aduser567 and have all rights to it. No other user can see this share (except admins if you set it up to, via a options command).

2. Qtrees : these are special folders you create which can have a quota on them based per user or in total.

Combine the two: you could have some users with a home drive limited to 100GB and others with a limit of 250GB, but setting the home dir to two different qtrees.

ELIJAHMUHA

Thanks that helped me get me started on where to go with this.  But it also has led me to more questions.