ONTAP Discussions

Moving a volume to an aggregate on the second HA within a 4-node CDOT environment

mdvillanueva

Hi experts,

I have vol1 containing LUN1 that is connected to a Windows machine. So my SVM1 is configured with two portsets; porsetHA1 and portsetHA2. I have the igroup for the Windows machine mapped to porsetHA1. vol1 is in HA1_aggr1 in HA1. I want to move vol1 to HA2_aggr1. Since I am moving vol1 to an aggregate accross a diffrent HA, will that be creating an outage on the LUN?

What can I do to avoid a downtime?

I am new to CDOT so any help would be great.

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

bobshouseofcards

Hi.

You general configuration will not present a problem to accomplish the move, but it could present some potential failure scenarios leading to loss of access.

From your description I understand that you have two HA pairs, HA1 and HA2, in a single cluster.  You have an aggregate within each HA pair.  Each HA pair has a portset.  And you're new to cDOT.  All good.  let's start with a few basics then.

A cDOT cluster is for all intents a single storage system image to connecting clients.  Your volumes can be located anywhere within the cluster on any aggregate.  A request can come in to access that data on any "available" interface on any node, and the data will be located on the storage and delivered back through the interface to the connected client.  That just works, using the private cluster interconnect network on the backend.  It is completely transparent to the client.

The "virtualization" of the storage is done thorugh SVMs.  SVMs manage the volume/lun "space" that is presented and the interfaces (network, iSCSI, FC) thorugh which the volumes/luns are presented.  An SVM can also be limted as to where its volumes can live on the backend if desired.  So the magic of the physical storage is hidden through the SVM.