ONTAP Discussions

Properly turn off the storage system FAS (Ontap 7-mode и Cluster mode)

areti

Hello!

The netapp website has an article on how to properly turn off the storage system:

https://kb.netapp.com/Advice_and_Troubleshooting/Data_Storage_Software/ONTAP_OS/What_is_the_procedure_for_graceful_shutdown_and_power_up_of_a_storage_...

I have no experience with turning off the power of disk systems, but I have to do this due to a move of equipment. Therefore, I had several clarifying questions.

I have FAS2240 (Ontap 8.1 7-mode) and FAS2552 and FAS2750 (Ontap 9 Cluster mode)

Consider the section  "Perform the following steps in Data ONTAP 7-Mode to bring the system down" of the article.

To execute the indicated commands cifs terminate, cf disable, halt, it is enough to connect via SSH (example from putty) to the management port, or is it better to connect from putty to the Service Processor and then execute the "system console" command?

Step 4 mentions the command halt -f -t.
-f is [-inhibit-takeover]
what does -p mean? I did not find such a parameter in the command description in the documentation.

Next, see the section  "Perform the following steps in Clustered Data ONTAP to bring the system down" of the article

Step 1: Notify, disconnect and, if needed, shut down all the connected CIFS / NFS clients.

Do I need to run the "cifs terminate" command in this case?

Step 3: Log in to all nodes, one at a time (preferably using serial console or RLM / SP) ...

I have to SSH into the Service Processor and then execute the "system console" command, and then execute

halt -node local -inhibit-takeover true -skip-lif-migration true.

Do I understand the sequence of actions correctly?

After that, can you turn off the power switches?
Some Internet resources recommend running the "system power off" command at the end, but this command is not mentioned in this article. Don't need to run this command?

I would be grateful for comments on my questions.