ONTAP Discussions

Sanitize entire netapp

denskie22

Hi,

I'm really new to netapp so forgive me that i don't know the commands and options from the system.

We have a older Netapp (FAS940, ontap version 7.0.5) which should be totally wiped before we get rid of it.

The netapp has 2 disk shelf's, then 2 heads and another 3 disk shelf's. (heads both see their own disks and the others as partner disks)

I managed to get the above 2 disk shelfs wiped (with some help) by moving the root volume to a newly created aggegate.

There was a arregate with 3 disks so we just rebuild that one, moved the root volume to it and sanitized the other 25 disks.

Now, the other one has only 1 arregate with 42 disks divided into 3 raid groups.

There is only 1 spare disk available. The root volume is also on this arregate.

How can i possible wsanitize these disks?

I want to have the same setup as the other head, so 3 disks for the root volume and all other disks for the data. (meaning sanitized and set to spare)

But i cant find a way to get 2 disks of the other arregate, or any other way to get 2 additional spare disks to create a new arregate for a root volume.

How can i get this?

Thanks in advance for your help!

(netapp is no longer in use / production. It contains no data and should be prepared for selling. That's why I need to have all disks sanitized so data recovery will be impossible. I just need a working netapp like it came from the factory)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

jscott

We have wondered into an area that I do not have experience, sanitizing

spares. If you know that part (or I can research it for you), then

follow most of the instructions I gave you to initialize your filer

choosing option 4a. This will create a RAID4 root volume (vol0) using 2

disks (rather than the 3 required for RAID DP). All other disks will be

zeroed and available as spares.

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11

jscott