ONTAP Hardware

Advice for adding two new DS4246 shelves to a 6220

NEWNETAPP987

Hi,

I am still new to NetApp so I hope to get some advice.  I have a 6220 with four DS4246 shelves, two on each controller installed now.

My manager ordered two more shelves to add space to the array.

Here is my simple question:

Is it advisable to add the two new shelves to one controller -- therebye creating a two shelvles on one controller and four shelves on the other controller ... or do I need to add 1 shelf to each controller to have a 3 shelves on each controller config?

One reason I want to add two shelves to one controller is so I can create an aggregate with 47disks and 1 hot spare with the 48 FSAS drives I have.  This way I would have two - 16 disk RGs and and one  - 15 disk RG.

Any thoughts?  Thanks,

2 REPLIES 2

bobshouseofcards

You can add shelves in any supported configuration - there is not need to match or balance shelves between controllers.  You might want to for various reasons, such as to balance worload or such between controllers, but there is no requirement to do so.  If 47 spindles is what you need on one controller is what you need, either for total storage available in an aggregate or for IOPs then that is what you need.