ONTAP Hardware

Newbie: Getting a NetAppFAS980 to boot

bobthetree

Howdy,

My name is Ross and I am a graduate student worker at Texas A&M for the CS group here.  We recently received a big donation of 4-5 racks of NetApp FAS900 series controllers and drive bays/drives.  Right now I am simply trying to get the first rack (A FAS980 with 12 drive bay racks) to boot to a working prompt so I can further investigate what needs to be done.  The approach so far is incremental...  I have the main device (FAS980) and one drive controller plugged into the main device via fiber.  We have a monitor/keyboard/modem device which is new to me but I think everything is set up that needs to be.  Correct me if I am wrong, but the OS sits on the CF cards that are inserted into the main device.  We have an OS loaded on there and are trying to get it to boot, but when it has the following sequence leading to an apparent crash with no prompt ever appearing.

Disk label processing fail

Error dumping core

Halting

Is there a guide somewhere on how to get started with the FAS980 system?  Any help pointing me in the right direction would be great.  I know the general forum etiquette about searching for solutions and believe me I have tried... Seems netapp has their documents locked down pretty good.

Thanks,

Ross

6 REPLIES 6

danielpr

Hi Ross,

Have you tired to to Erase (reseting) Storage System configuration any time ?

You can do this if you dont need the data back and only if you have the license of this system in backup.

Thanks

Daniel

Message was edited by: Daniel Prakash

bobthetree