Active IQ Unified Manager Discussions

Harvest docker image

J_curl

Any thoughts on releasing a docker image for harvest?  I started playing with docker today, and easily got graphite, grafana and harvest (rolled my own image) running as a package.  Would make installs so much easier

9 REPLIES 9

J_curl

I am running Graphite and Grafana using hopsoft/graphite-statsd and grafana/grafana:3.0.4 Docker images.  Quick and easy.  Here is what I did to get harvest running in Docker.  I can write up a complete guide if anyone is intersted

Here is a Dockerfile i used to create a harvest image.  I have about 10 hours of experience with Docker, so I am sure there are better ways but this is working for me.

FROM alpine:latest
RUN apk update && apk add perl perl-json perl-libwww perl-xml-parser perl-lwp-protocol-https unzip
ADD netapp-harvest /opt/netapp-harvest
WORKDIR /opt/netapp-harvest

You have to download netapp-harvest,  add the perl modules from SDK (as per the Harvest install guide), and populate your netapp-harvest.conf file.  This will make a complete netapp-harvest directory that will get added to the image.

Then create this Dockerfile and run 

docker build -t <name>/harvest:<version tag> .

From here you can spin up workers as containers by running:

docker run -d\
 --name harvest-<name of your poller>\
--restart=always\ jpeake/harvest:0.1\ ./netapp-worker -poller <name of poller in .conf file>

I am still running my production Harvest the old fashioned way, but find this really interesting, and super easy to spin up at our various sites around the world.  Put all pollers in the conf file, and call up workers as needed per site.  

asulliva

Hello @J_curl,