VMware Solutions Discussions

SRM 5 and SRA 2 error "cannot be matched to a remote peer device"

PETERMCCLOUD

Hi there,

I am new to NFS and am in the process of setting up a DR environment between two data centres with vmware SRM 5.

The production data centre has an NFS connected vSphere ESXi 4.1 cluster with an FAS3210 NAS. On tap version is 8.0.2

The DR data centre has an older IBM N-Series N3300 fibre channel connected ESXi 4.1 cluster.  On tap version of the SAN is 7.3.4.

We are using Snapmirror to replicate at the QTree level.

We have installed SRM 5 and the SRA 2 adapter and have set up the arrays and things appear to be OK until we attempt to set up the array pairs. 

When we do we get an error message "Device '[volumename]' cannot be matched to a remote peer device"

We have checked the exports settings on the NFS side and that appears to be correct.

Is it possible to create an SRM array pair using NFS at the production site and FC LUN's at the recovery site?

14 REPLIES 14

columbus_admin

I am by no means an SRA expert, but I have looked at the perl scripts that make it up.  The SRA and SRM need to look for the same thing on both sides, so FC to FC, NFS to NFS.  Without this, compliance is going to be a gamble.  We have a nested export on an NFS volume with no datastores, but SRA/SRM knows that is an issue if we did have NFS datastores and it causes a bit of grief by failing to update SRM groups(there is a workaround, it stinks, but it works).

This ensures that the process can be followed, imagine how complicated an automated system would have to be to search every protocol in the middle of a disaster event to make that happen.  Your time would HAVE to go way up, just to check for all the permutations.  It couldn't verify exports from an FC to NFS datastore is just the first issue I could think of.