Active IQ Unified Manager Discussions

Beginner WFA Question - Create a Qtree

A_Campbell

I'm just starting out with WFA and having a hard time using NetApp's 'Create Qtree' command. I'm trying to use an existing volume I created ahead of time using 'select one volume by it's natural keys'. To make sure my parameters are correct, I use the test function in the resource selection window, and the test passes. I enter the exact information I used for the test, in the 3 parameters for cluster name, storage virtual machine name, and volume name. But, the preview is failing with 'illegal expression' on the volume:

Failed to evaluate resource selector. Illegal expression: Adam_TestVol1
Location: 'Create qtree' command > 'Qtree' tab > 'qtree1' variable > 'volume' property 

I can't figure out why the parameters pass the test during resource selection, but fail during the preview. I did notice it doesn't ask me to specify the aggregate, so maybe that has something to do with it. Any assistance would be appreciated!

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

MattInCO

@A_Campbell

My first thoughts without seeing it would be that your volume name (and cluster + SVM) string isn't enclosed in single quotes. I don’t think you have to do that to test, but you will for the actual command block.

If that doesn't help, then you may have to post your workflow.

Let me know if that helps point you in the right direction.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

MattInCO

@A_Campbell

My first thoughts without seeing it would be that your volume name (and cluster + SVM) string isn't enclosed in single quotes. I don’t think you have to do that to test, but you will for the actual command block.

If that doesn't help, then you may have to post your workflow.

Let me know if that helps point you in the right direction.

A_Campbell

Thank you! The single quotes solved my issue. Really appreciate the help!

sinhaa

@A_Campbell