Active IQ Unified Manager Discussions

EMC symmetrix array discovery using Solutions Enabler.

learnthestorage

Hello All,

I am a storage admin and needed on discovering EMC Symmetrix storage array using Solutions Enabler (CLI) using CLI performance and SMI-S performance.

I have a Symmetrix DMX4 array, I have installed the Solutions Enabler(v7.2.0) with SMI-S Provider(v4.2.0) on a host which already have luns from the DMX4.

I run the following commands with output.

C:\Program Files\EMC\SYMCLI\bin> symcfg list

S Y M M E T R I X

Mcode    Cache      Num Phys  Num Sym
    SymmID       Attachment  Model     Version  Size (MB)  Devices   Devices

000190300*** Local       DMX4-6    5773       32768         4       488

I created a data source

Vendor: EMC

Model: Solutions Enabler (CLI) with SMI-S performance.

IP address of the host running Solutions enabler and SMI-S

Credentials: of the SMI-S provider

Service insight error: Failed to execute Sym CLI Symcfg.

Help me resolve this issue ASAP.

Thanks and regards,

John Jr.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

ostiguy

I do not believe "nonsecure" will work - Solutions Enabler 7.0 introduced SSL only communications by default. When you manipulate your netcnfg file, you are changing how you will behave as a SE client - by setting nonsecure, you will only attempt non SSL secured communications. This will fail against a SE 7.x server by default, as they will only communicate via SSL.

Setting it to secure is the best bet. SECURE has some annoyances - SE uses mutual certificate authentication, so both the SE host and server need to be able to resolve the other's hostname to an IP, or else handshake errors will be typically encountered.

Recommendation:

On the SANscreen server, edit netcnfg, change to secure.

On the sanscreen server, In a cmd prompt

set SYMCLI_CONNECT_TYPE=REMOTE_CACHED
set SYMCLI_CONNECT=SYMAPI_SERVER

You have just set environmental variables in the *context* of that particular command prompt.