Active IQ Unified Manager Discussions

FAS960 setup help

ANDREWJWARWICK

I have a FAS960 filer and 3 DS14 MK2 drive shelves that I would like to get up and running, but I don't have any of the drives that the unit originally came with, as the company (obviously) destroyed them upon recycling the filer.  I am assuming that this also means that I don't have an OS with the filer, but perhaps I am wrong if the filer contains some sort of a HDD or SSD with the OS on it (I work in IT, but I have never dealt with NetApp products or filers before).  I have done some google searches to try to figure out if I would be able to get an OS onto it, as well as learn even just the basics that I would need to know to get it set up, but the vast majority of the information I have found seems to assume that you have at least a year or two of experience.

So in short, a few of my questions are:

- If I install a PCI USB card, will it be recognized (especially for the purpose of keyboard/mouse/USB video and a bootable USB drive)?

- Would the filer be compatible with Windows Server 2008 R2?  Linux server OS?  Or is there anyplace I can get a copy of Data OnTap?

- If I get an OS installed, is there software I will need in order to program it via the console cable, and is that available anywhere?

In spite of all the research I have done, it still seems like I am starting from square one.  I also understand that what I am trying to do just might not be possible, or at least not without shelling out a bunch of money to buy a version of whatever OS/console software I would need.  Either way, I greatly appreciate whatever help or advice anyone can provide.

Thanks,

Andrew

5 REPLIES 5

nigelg1965

I'll try to answer your questions and suggest a few pointers and gotcha to be aware.

FAS960 is around 10 years old.

Do you have the disk carriers with the shelves? You are going to need at least 3 or 4 working disks.

I'm not familiar with this model, but normally the o/s is held on a CF card.