Cloud Volumes ONTAP

CVO Performance issue

Netapp_maniac

Hi Folks ,

I am new to netapp

Can someone guide how to troubleshoot perormance issue in ONTAP 9.7 CVO, I have received notification telling that "the connection to the CVO seems to be very slow" and it is taking more than hour to download 20gb and it keeps bouncing between 4mb/s to 6mbs ?

I need to figure out root cause for it .

Thanks in advance !!

4 REPLIES 4

cruxrealm

Best to provide more information.  (which cloud provider, compute type,  protocol you are using to download files, client OS, anti-malware installed on the client,  client wan connection, etc).   You should also  reach out to support. 

Netapp_maniac

cloud provider - Azure,

compute type - I didnt get it what does it mean 

protocol-NFSV4

client OS - Linux,

anti-malware installed on the client - Not sure about it ,

client wan connection - NA

Thanks

cruxrealm

Have you tried creating a local (in the cloud) linux client on the same network as the cvo and test the performance?

BeMiller

There are several places to get performance metrics and each would depend on what you 'need' and what the issue is....

1.) Monitoring - available for free in Cloud Manager (but will deploy an EC2 instance).  This will give you 3 columns showing each volume, it's IOP count, throughput and latency in sortable columns.

2.) System Manager - one-click access to this from Cloud Manager (3-bar menu, 'advanced', scroll down to "System Manager").  This will also give you high level performance metrics for volumes or SVM's under the Storage tab and by clicking on the name of the volume you want to look at.