General Discussion

Need help to create WFA to clone a LUN from snapshot

Hitesh123

Hi , i am new to WFA and i need to create a work flow which can clone a LUN using a snapshot of parent volume and export it to a host. Until now i have created work flow with below steps and currently i am stuck on step 4. 

step 1 : - Cluster name --should be populated using mysql query  -- this is already done

step 2 : - vserver name - - should be populated using mysql query  -- this is already done

step 3 : - volume name -- - should be populated using mysql query  -- this is already done

step 4 : - snapshot list -- It should populate the list of snapshots for volume selected in step 3.  -- I am stuck here

my OCUM version is 7.2 and WFA version is 5.0 . While searching on google i found seems it is problem with schema cm_storage as there is no data for snapshot in it. But how i can fix it. I am sorry i am new to WFA so please excuse for basic questions. 

Thanks in advance. 

3 REPLIES 3

mbeattie

Hi,

The cm_storage database does not contain snapshots. You need to configure a Data source for it (Scheme, Dictionary and Data Source Types).

• Create a scheme called 'cm_snapshots'
  • Create a Dictionary in the cm_snapshot' scheme called 'snapshot'
  • Create a Data Source Type in the 'cm_snapshots' scheme

Here is an example of the dictionary:

snapshots.png

Here is the data source type:

#'------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#'Ensure that dates are always returned in English
#'------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[System.Threading.Thread]::CurrentThread.CurrentCulture="en-US"
#'Create the output file
$snapshotCsv = "./snapshot.csv"
New-Item -Path $snapshotCsv -type file -force
$clusterAddress = Get-WfaRestParameter "host"
Get-WFALogger -Info -Message "Enumerating Snapshots on Cluster ""$clusterAddress"""
#'Connect to the cluster
Try{
   Connect-WfaCluster $clusterAddress -Timeout 300000