Microsoft Virtualization Discussions

NetAppDocs not able to authenticate due to insufficient role error: user account has admin role

mpedigo_usda

Hello,

I'm new to this environment and trying to set up NetAppDocs 3.4 in an ONTAP 9.3P5 environment.  In order to authenticate in this environment I have a username which includes doman\io.firstname.lastname with a length of  22 characters.    My username in ONTAP is domain method with the admin role.  I have ssh, http, and ontapi enabled.  I can putty or system manager into the controllers with no issues.

My syntax is:

Get-NtapClusterData -Name hostname -credential domain\io.firstname.lastname -verbose | Format-NtapClusterData | Out-NtapDocument -WordFile ***.Docx' -ExcelFile ***.xlsx'

The error is:

VERBOSE: Initializing function: Get-NtapClusterData (netappdocs v3.4.0.547)
VERBOSE: Validating connectivity to system: hostname
VERBOSE: Using supplied credentials
VERBOSE: Trying HTTP/HTTPS
VERBOSE: Connected to hostname using HTTPS
VERBOSE: Skipping EMS logging
VERBOSE: Validating successful connection
VERBOSE: Validating user roles
Get-NtapClusterData : Unable to gather data from system. Reason: User account does not have the minimum access level
required. See the FAQ entry in the help files for more information.
At line:1 char:1
+ Get-NtapClusterData -Name hostname -credential domain\io.firstname.la ...
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
+ CategoryInfo : ConnectionError: (hostname:String) [Get-NtapClusterData], Exception
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : ConnectionFailed,Test-NtapStorageSystemConnection,Get-NtapClusterData

Any suggestions on how to resolve this issue?  Please let me know if you need more data.

Thanks!

Mike

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

cole

Yep, the console role is required and as you mentioned, a domain account cannot be assigned the console role. The issue is that for some of the data I need to use the CLI command instead of an API and this requires the console role.