Microsoft Virtualization Discussions

Powershell Lag Time

JGPSHNTAP

So, i'm new to the whole powershell on Netapp, but I'm looking for a way to query a bunch of filers and report on snapmirror lag time.    I'm a Vbscript guy, so go easy on me as im just starting to learn powershell.

32 REPLIES 32

cknight

Shouldn't be difficult.  You can get a flavor of this by connecting to a controller (Connect-NaController) and listing the snapmirror relationships:

PS C:\> Get-NaSnapmirror | ft -AutoSize

Source          Destination                         Status State         LagTimeTS

------          -----------                         ------ -----         ---------

dunn:vol2       benson:dunn_vol2_mirror             idle   source        13:05:57

dunn:testvol3   benson:testvol3                     idle   source     188.07:48:27

benson:testvol3 dunn:testvol3                       idle   broken-off 188.06:48:25

dunn:AS_5_12_1  fas2050b:AS_5_12_1_NODELETE         idle   source     434.02:47:27

dunn:SC_3_3_0   fas2050b:SnapCreator_3_3_0_NODELETE idle   source     434.02:47:00

Then it's just a matter of looping through multiple controllers and formatting the output however you want.  The LagTimeTS field is a .NET TimeSpan object, so it's easy to convert that to different units.

JGPSHNTAP

Clinton

Thanks for the quick response.. I am a poweshell newbie, so i'm just kickin around the tires on this. I have reviewed the "getting started document and plan on reviewing your latest document "Making the most out of powershell"

The goal of the script would be to loop through a set of determined filers and anything over lets' say 50hours lag time be emailed to us.  The issue is that the environment i'm thinking about is has 3800+ daily snapsmirrors and snapvaults.  Right now we don't have a good way to determine where the issue is. 

cknight

That sounds like a great application for a PowerShell script.  You might also review a few other links that may be relevant: