Microsoft Virtualization Discussions

Take clone name and check current snapshopt name

ernest_brant

Hello All

I am not a NetApp engineer, I am starting to write powershell scripts and getting on OK,

However can someone please give me a bit of assistance on the following...

lets say I have a clone of a LUN called Clone_XXX this clone was created a few days ago and the original LUN now has several move snapshots.

can some one please give me a suggestion or two on how to check if the clone in question is still based on the most current snapshot? or if one or more newer snapshots have taken place since the original clone (assuming you do not know the snapshot schedule)

Thanks all

Ernie

ErnestBrant@Hotmail.co.uk

3 REPLIES 3

lovik_netapp

I am not a powershell guy so I don't know how to achieve this through scripts however if want to see this on SSH/RSH/console, you can run the command "snap list -b <parent volume>", where parent volume is the volume which was used to create a clone volume and from the list of snapshot the clone snapshot will have busy status next to its name, you can also check the parent volume name with command "vol status <clone volume name>"

Cheers,

ernest_brant

Thanks for the reply Lovik

that is the sort if info, I need. I can then work out the powershell commands from here, I will let you know the relevent powershell, now I have the idea and figured it out.

Thanks again

Ernest

paleon

The cmdlets to use will be Get-NaVol and Get-NaSnapshot.