Microsoft Virtualization Discussions

toolkit output questions

wnorthmtitsd

First, I am very new to PowerShell and the toolkit.

When I use some commandlets in a shell I get blank lines for output.

such as when I put in Get-NaSystemOntapiVersion

Tried piping it to foreach and then assigning the variable I wanted, in this case MajorVersion and MinorVersion but I still get nothing

Obviously I am missing something.

Can someone explain in plain language (as opposed to powershell speak) what that might be ?

thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

timothyn

Ahh, so the commands inside the loop don't output text, they return objects directly on the pipeline.  You essentially end up with a list of controller, ontapi version, controller, ontapi version, and so on.   Because you have a select statement in there and multiple types in the output, PowerShell is getting confused and doesn't know how to format the objects.

Instead, one option is to use the Select-Object cmdlet to combine the controller and Ontapi Version into a single object:

$hostnames = @("10.61.169.28", "10.61.165.227")

foreach ($hostname in $hostnames)

{

$cntlr = Connect-NaController $hostname

Get-NaSystemOntapiVersion |

select @{Name="Name";Expression={$cntlr.Name}},

@{Name="Address";Expression={$cntlr.Address}},

MajorVersion, MinorVersion

}

which outputs this:

Name                         Address                                        MajorVersion                MinorVersion
----                         -------                                        ------------                ------------
10.61.169.28                 10.61.169.28                                              1                          13
10.61.165.227                10.61.165.227                                             1                           7