Network and Storage Protocols

Multiple Cifs shares on the Same Volume

leke_rodipe

Hi All,

I am very new with Netapp but I seems to have this issue. I am trying to create more than one cifs on the same volume and when I create a file in one of the CIFS share, it is copied over to the other CIFS share on the same volume. Is it that it is not possible to create more than one CIFS share on the same volume or there is something I am doing wrong here.

Thanks

11 REPLIES 11

RICCO4400

Hi

Yes of course it's possible to create more than one share per volume or qtree

Can you post result of command: cifs shares?

Regards

leke_rodipe

RICCO4400

It's strange, you have a share AssetStore-DC1  pointing to volume vol_UATBusinessApps

and also administrative share ETC$ pointing same volume

You are using vfiler, it seems you created you vfiler without boot volume

I would recommend when creating vfiler to create a very small volume a few MB , this volume will store some configuration file for our vfiler

add this "boot" volume to vfiler and after add you "data" volume (vol_UATBussinessApps)

leke_rodipe

Hi,

I am still very new with Data Ontap. I created vfiler quite alight  but ETC$ and C$ were created by default.

"I would recommend when creating vfiler to create a very small volume a few MB , this volume will store some configuration file for our vfiler

add this "boot" volume to vfiler and after add you "data" volume (vol_UATBussinessApps)" - Can you direct me to have to do this.

All I did was to run the command - vfiler create vfiler_name

RICCO4400

here an exemple

vfiler create vFilerTEST -i 192.168.1.1 /vol/vfilerBOOT /vol/vfilerDATA

answer to setup question

you need to create the 2 volumes first

vfilerBOOT= 20MB for storing vfiler configuration files -it's better to have them separate

vfilerDATA =size you want

Using command vfiler status -r you will see

vFilerTEST  running

ipspace: ....

IP address:.....

Path: /vol/vfilerBOOT [/etc]