ONTAP Discussions

OnTap Simulator exported volumes

UnixCommando

I did a quick search and didn't find what I was looking for, if there is a thread please direct me.

I'm new to OnTap, I've used many other storage products, EMC, HP, Sun and others.  I've downloaded OnTap simulator and have started working with it.  I created an aggregate and an SVM and exported a volume but I can't mount it, I get permission denied.  Is this a feature of the simulator?  I can understand that NetApp doesn't want to give away their product and have us use it for free, but if I can't mount any volumes how do I test features like permissions, users, roles and such?

If this isn't a feature what do I need to do to mount a volume?  I'm using NFS and I see it exported, I just can't mount it.

thanks

-Bob

5 REPLIES 5

darb0505

Hi Bob,

Most of the features should be able to work as long as you have it licensed when you setup your ONTAP SIM.  When you download the simulator version you should also see a license document.  If you already added the licenses you can reference the ONTAP 9 documentation to review how to export a NFS volume.

Also feel free to look at the following KB for additional assistance: Unable to mount a volume using NFS in ONTAP 9

Let us know if you have any additional questions.

Thanks

Team NetApp

UnixCommando

So, you're telling me that the mount should work.  Good, at least I know there's a solution.  I checked the links you provided and if I made a mistake I'm unclear where.  I created the SVM, I have a rule that allows any host read/write access to the share and from my client I can run showmount and get the following:

[root@plex ~]# showmount -e 172.17.0.33
Export list for 172.17.0.33:
/ (everyone)
/test_NFS_volume (everyone)
/test_NFS_volume/qtree1 (everyone)

On any other NFS server this would be mountable.  I did check my licensing and both nodes show compliant for NFS.

Thanks

-Bob

NetApp_SR