ONTAP Discussions

setup and reallocation

RAFWOZ

I'm relatively new to NetApp, most of my storage experience is coming from working for a decade with HP MSA series so obviously there is lot of differences in concept as well how things work, we bought few NetApp FAS2240s tried to learn it by installing first one myself and engaged consultant from local NetApp partner company to validate our installation and tell us what we did wrong and why, all came out we did all OK for what we want to use it end up changing nothing in out configuration. Year later we found that we running into performance issues in our branch locations where we only have FAS2240 with single shelf of 24 3TB disks, performance issues are related to speed of the disks and IOPS we can provide. one of the mistakes we did was distribution of 24 disks evenly between both filers, essentially what we end up doing is have 12 disks owned by each filer, 3 of 12 used for system aggregate, 8 of 12 for data aggregate and remaining 1 disk for spare... in this config we limited ourselves to 8 disks and whatever IOPS it can provide, so now we are in need to delete all volumes and aggregate owned by Filer2 (no problem with this since in relatively short time since we bought this FAS2240 we have no data there yet or data that can be moved) and reassign disks to Filer1, add them to data aggregate and reallocate

Here is what I have done so far:

- delete LUNs, volumes, data aggregate own by Filer2

- reassign 9 disks (8 previously in data aggregate + spare) to Filer 1

- Above makes data aggregate own by Filer 1 bigger made of 17 disks, this should help with IOPS

- ran reallocate start -p -f /vol/datavol ... BTW this process takes forever and I don't see much options to monitor it other than aggr status -r (takes days) Here is what I cannot do and this is my first question: