Software Development Kit (SDK) and API Discussions

How to pass proper parameters for DFM web service

blackjack168

Hi, all,

I'm new to manageability SDK.  I can not figure out how to pass proper parameters to dfm web service to conduct management or provision task. 

An example to describe my situation is as follows:

Step 1. I launch Netapp ZExplore and connect to a datafabric manager server.

Step 2. I right-click on the "aggregate-modify" to generate xml ; afterward, I put a specific aggregate id on the tag. i.e.:

aggregate-name-or-id>90</aggregate-name-or-id>

Step 3. I hit "Execute", the result show on the bottom panel as Tree with node "status="passed"

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<!DOCTYPE netapp SYSTEM "http://172.20.48.117:8088/netapp_server.dtd">

<netapp version="1.0">

<results status="passed"/>

</netapp>

Above process confuse me as I expect that method is suppose  to take more granular parameters regarding to aggregate to manipulate with, and not knowing what exactly have been got modified.

Very look forward to got enlightened !

thanks in advance

Tsungte Lin

3 REPLIES 3

kunalm

Go to Preferences > Options and tick Include Optional elements in code generation > Save changes

With this you will also get the optional parameters that you can pass when making an API call

blackjack168

Thanks,

With this specific 'aggregate-modify' method example,  I check the all three check box in the Options tab, only to find the result is still the same.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<netapp xmlns="http://www.netapp.com/filer/admin" version="1.0">