Software Development Kit (SDK) and API Discussions

No elements in API request - NetApp Manageability SDK 5.2.1R1 on RHEL 6 with Python 3.3.5

salalonde

Hi,

I'm just getting started with the SDK on Python 3.3.  If I try to return anything from a filer using the SDK I get:

Failed:

No elements in API request

This happens, for example, with the sample system_mode.py (that I have modified very slightly):

# $ID$
#
# system_mode.py
# This sample code prints the mode of the Storage system
# (7-Mode or Cluster-Mode)
#
# Copyright (c) 2011 NetApp, Inc. All rights reserved.
# Specifications subject to change without notice.
#
#============================================================
import sys
sys.path.append("/usr/local/bin/netapp-sdk/lib/python/NetApp")
from NaServer import *

storage = 'myfiler'
user = 'root'
password = 'mypassword'

s = NaServer(storage, 5, 2)
s.set_admin_user(user, password)
output = s.invoke("system-get-version")

if(output.results_errno() != 0):
    r = output.results_reason()
    print("Failed: \n" + str(r))
else :
    clustered = output.child_get_string("is-clustered")
    if(clustered == "true"):
        print("The Storage System " + storage + " is in \"Cluster Mode\"\n")
    else :
        print("The Storage System " + storage + " is in \"7 Mode\"\n")

##############################################################

[user@myserver]$ ./system_mode.py

Failed:

No elements in API request

Are there steps I need to perform on the filer itself to get this to work?  If I change the password in my script I do get an authentication error, so this does seem to be going through, I'm just not getting anything back.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Sam

1 REPLY 1

sens

Hi Sam,

One problem that I can see with this script is in the line:

s = NaServer(storage, 5, 2)

5, 2 -> represents the major_version, minor_version of the Data ONTAP API version.

So, if the ONTAP API version is 1.17, major_version = 1 and minor_version = 17.