VMware Solutions Discussions

DSM vs. Host Kits

gcoburn

So dumb question but I'm building a config and there are two different options I can go... I'm hoping someone out there can tell me if there is a difference or if I need both of these.

In the client hardare/software config there is a listing for Host Attach Kit (which has a windows option) There is also a DSM MPIO for windows option. Are these infact that same or do I need both or just one. Help me understand what I need to do for a windows host connecting via fcp.

Thanks in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

bjornkoopmans

Strictly speaking you only need the DSM MPIO. The Host utillities only provide a toolkit for troubleshooting (please correct me if I'm wrong!).

Windows Server 2008 has Native MPIO, so you might not even need the ONTAP MPIO, but I have no experience with that.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

bjornkoopmans

Strictly speaking you only need the DSM MPIO. The Host utillities only provide a toolkit for troubleshooting (please correct me if I'm wrong!).

Windows Server 2008 has Native MPIO, so you might not even need the ONTAP MPIO, but I have no experience with that.

guestsylis

Host kits provide general system settings to optimize things like path-timeout settings and provide diagnostic add-ons for management. The DSM is the MPIO engine which you definitely need in some cases.

All documents I read make the remark that you'd better install the host utilities for best operation, I think they are available at no charge.

amiller_1

Correct -- if there's a Host Utilities Kit you always want to install it (among other things it sets timeout values that ensure the client system (Windows/VMware/Solaris/etc.) will handle a NetApp cluster failover without crashing....rather important).

mlockwood