Active IQ Unified Manager Discussions

Should I use powershell or perl to develop WFA?

netappmagic

I am new to WFA, and wondering what development tool I should use, Powershell or perl which seems two options I can use for WFA operations. I wanted to ask experienced exerts here, what tool would be better suited, considering adopting / integrating any existing modules/libraries. I don't want to be too late in the middle of the development when I find one tool is not better than the other.

Is there any issue on using Perl over Powershell? Since personally I like perl, although both is new to me.

Thanks!

8 REPLIES 8

mgoddard

Hi,

The majority of WFA Commands are written in Powershell as this is built into Windows, although newer WFA include Perl in the bundle so you can use either easily. I'd probably suggest powershell if you don't have experience in either, as powershell tends to be easier to learn. You could use a GUI like PowerGUI to help. If you run the shell interactively, load the <WFA-Install-Dir>/PoSH/profile.ps1 to include the WFA-specific powershell extensions.

Kind Regards,

Michael.

sinhaa

PowerGUI... not used it but I think I should try. I hope it doesn't need a license.

Answering to the original post, Powershell beats Perl hands down in every single respect one can think of. Also WFA current infrastructure aids the command development in Powershell. Discover parameters, different parameter input types etc.. all work with Posh commands.

If you like Perl, you are going to love Powershell. Use Posh3.0 or 4.0.

If this post resolved your issue, help others by selecting ACCEPT AS SOLUTION or adding a KUDO.

raovolvoadmin

I agree with Mgoddard.Most of the WFA commands written in PowerShell.

But I heard that Perl WFA commands going to be included in next release.Is it true?.I am not very much sure.

As per my knowledge,Most of the Storage Admin's are familiar with Perl compared with PowerShell. One reason is Perl is platform independent.

Regards