General Discussion

Cannot perform file restore from Snapcentre plugin in VSphere 6.5

CC_NetApp

Hi,

We are having trouble performing a file restore from vSphere 6.5 using  the NetApp snap centre plugin.  There seems to be an issue pulling the vmdk and mounting the restore to the proxy server.

The error we are seeing is : Aggregate  is not in aggr-list of Vserver 

Any ideas?

Thanks

12 REPLIES 12

Ontapforrum

Hi ,

Open netapp system manager, go to respective vserver, edit vserver settings,  go to resource allocation and assign data aggregate to the vserver.

I dont know which version of ontap you are using, but you just need to assign data aggregate to the vserver so that it can do provisioning / flexcloning during restore.

Thanks!

CC_NetApp

Hi,

Thanks for reaching out regarding this.  I am still a novice when it comes to managing NetApp storage systems so I am having trouble finding where this setting is.

We have Ontap 9.6 and Vsphere 6.5

When you say vserver I can't seem to find this setting.  Is it in the Ontap settings or Vsphere management? this has worked previously so I am slightly confused as to why this would stop working?

Thnks!

Ontapforrum

Hi, 

You can also do it from the Ontap command line:

Just ssh to NetApp Cluster:

check if you have aggregate assigned already

::> vserver show -fields aggr-list -vserver <vserver>

If not then assigned, then add aggregate to the vserver 
::> vserver add-aggregates -vserver <vserver> -aggregates <aggr_name>

Aggregate assigned could be the one whose volumes are attached to the vserver.

https://docs.netapp.com/ontap-9/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.netapp.doc.dot-cm-psmg%2FGUID-5255E7D8-F420-4BD3-AEFB-7EF65488C65C.html

Just check out the documentation for your ontap version.

Thanks!

CC_NetApp

Hi,

Thanks again for helping with this.