General Discussion

NetApp Equipment

JohnBerman

Hi

I work for EAARO.ORG.UK, we are a smal group of Radio Astronomers with a number of projects on the go all of which will require vasts amounts storage. Recently we have had a very generous dontation of Racks and Equipment which I plan to setup as data Centre  - trhe NetApp kit includes NAF-0702 - MPN: FAS3160 and a number of DS14 MK4 (other kit is mainly HP and Sun) - whist Im an IT prpject Manager i have no specific NetApp Knowledge (sorry) and wonder if this may the the right forum to ask questions

Regards

john

4 REPLIES 4

mjdalton1

John,

A little about your equipment. The FAS3160 will only support ONTAP 8.2.5P3.  It will require licenses that are tied to the controllers for you to use it.  I would recommend you find and contact your local NetApp area manager and see if the can help you out with licensing.   

You may need to create an account to access these links. The closest active link to your equipment would be this a FAS32xx :  https://mysupport.netapp.com/documentation/docweb/index.html?productID=61599&language=en-US    

Keep in mind only general cabling base configuration will be similar if not almost the same. 

Here's a link to help you cable the disk shelves to the controllers     https://library.netapp.com/ecmdocs/ECMP1196905/html/GUID-BE75353A-7DB4-4D86-A1D3-68C6E2ABEA76.html

I hope this helps.

Ontapforrum

Hi John,

Welcome to Community forum!