ONTAP Discussions

Failed Aggregate in FAS202 - Not rebuilding

Slartibartfast

I am a NetApp newb of the first degree. I inherited these things with zero knowledge and a mandate to keep it running. I am extra lucky in my learning curve, in that the support has been allowed to expire and will not be renewed.

I have a FAS202 with two additional shelves. The software is DataOnTap 7.3.7P1. I am running two aggregates in addition to the OS. One of the aggregates is a RAID4  with three raid groups of four disks each. All the drives are 2TB drives of the exact same model and manufacture.

I returned from holdiay to find that my aggregate was in a failed/partial condition. In actuallity, 6 disks failed while I was on holiday. That'll teach me I guess. Calling up the condition of the aggregate, I see that one of the drives has failed but I have no idea which one to swap. I replaced two of the drives and they both were listed with bad labels. I cleared the label off of one of the drives that I replaced and made it a spare (I read later that this was a poor choice) so I haven't done anything with the other. I also have not replaced any of the other failed drives in the system since every single one shows this "bad label" error and I am not sure how to fix that before putting a drive in.

Additionally, I see that my parity disk on RG1 is stuck at 83%. I am no storage guru, but I am pretty sure that can't be good.

I am fortunate that I had only moved about 30 out of about 120 VMs to this storage so, there's that. I would rather NOT have to rebuild 30 VMs though. I would be eternally grateful if someone could help me find the magic to do a coupel things:

Tell me how to properly prepare a previously utilized disk for placement into the FAS2020 so that it sees a disk to use in the failed array

Determine which disk to replace in the failed array

Get the repair process started so that I might recover my failed aggregate.

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

JGPSHNTAP