VMware Solutions Discussions

Consise best practices for FC Volume/Lun configuration for vmware ESX 4

daniel_kaiser

Hi,

I'm trying to get a consise configuration for setting up a FC Volume and LUN for a VMware ESX 4 datastore.  I've reviewed TR-3749 but ultimately don't know what the best settings or practices should be.  We're looking to leverage "thin provisioning" but not sure if this is the right approach or not.  We have a fairly small team, so the same team who handles the virtualization environment will also manage the Netapp.  Also does anyone know when the updated version of TR-3749 will be released.  I know it should be any day now.

I'm a newbie, so any help is greatly appreciated.  Thanks.

VM environment-

We're planning to use NFS and FC (already have the infrastructure), RDM LUNS for SnapDrive, SMVI for VM snapshots, RCU 3.0 and VSC

FC volume for the VM LUN - What's the ideal configuration

1.  Is it a good idea to "thin" provision the Volume by setting the volume "space setting" to none vs volume (space guarantee)

2.  If the Volume is configured with space guarantee, then the fractional space reservation should be set to 0%, right?

3.  Dedupe, volume autogrow, and snapshot autodelete should be enabled?

4.  Out of these five settings, what should be enabled:  No access time updates, create unicode, convert unicode, no automatic snapshot copy.hide snapshot directory

5.  snapshot reserve set to 0%?

LUN for VM datastores

1.  If the Volume was set as "space setting" none, then should the LUN space reserved be disabled.

2.  If the Volume was set as "space setting" guarantee, then should the LUN space reserved be disabled.

3.  Should "enabled LUN volume to grow automatically" be always set no matter how we configured the volume.

4.  For the LUN size, should it match the size of the Volume?

For NFS Volumes used for datastores

1.  Space setting set to none?

2.  Fractional space reservation set to 100%?

3.  Dedupe enabled