VMware Solutions Discussions

How do I get a server to see newly presented disk over FCP.

jclowardmcann

All,

I have connected a server over the HBA through the switch to a netapp filer. I presented the lun, it sees 3 volumes of "basic disk" all it allows me to do is change it to dynamic disk. No other options available.

I loaded the VCS plugin, and it does not see the disk. I can see it in the disk manager, but thats all. I just want to be able to mount them up as local off the fibre.

Anyone have any ideas?

I am also looking for the netapp system manager software, seems there are loads of links to tell me all about it, but no place to download it. I am new at this office, and would like to install it on my desktop.

Any input would be helpfull.

Thanks

J

14 REPLIES 14

fjohn

I take it you're not using snapdrive.  Is this windows 2008?  If so, you'll need to change the SAN Policy with Diskpart.

J

jclowardmcann

it is server 08, and no, we are not using snapdrive. The netapp guys said I needed to use the multipath io software, either from Netapp or Microsoft. The netapp one needs to be purchased, the microsoft one is free, management is rolling around with that for now.

If this is going in the wrong direction, let me know.

What is diskpart? utility?

I am not a windows guy, I live in the linux world, so this is kinda foreign water to me.

J

fjohn

Diskpart is a utility in Windows 2008.  Starting in Windows 2008, the default disk policy is SAN Offline.  THis is meant to protect shared disks from becoming corrupted.  The downside is that SAN presented disks are offline by default.  To change the policy:

1.  Open a command prompt with administrative priviledge.

2.  Type Diskpart.

3.  At the prompt, type SAN Policy=OnlineAll and hit enter

4.  type exit and hit enter

5.  close the command prompt window

Now go into disk management and try.

J

jclowardmcann