VMware Solutions Discussions

SMVI or OSSV

sladehornick

I'm new to netapp and trying to get my head wrapped around which tool to use for backing up my VM's.   I like simple, I like to have one way to do things but need some direction.  I've got a two controller FAS2020 system with a shelf of SAS drives, the controller has SATA drives.

I have the license for SMVI and have had that setup for a little over a month creating backups of my roughly 10 servers onto the snapshot space on the SAS shelf.  Over the last couple of days I've starting using OSSV and SnapVault to create backups of my physical machines onto a volume on my SATA drives and this seems to work well.

I have the NDMP option with Backup Exec and both volumes (SMVI snaps and SnapVaults) are going to tape.

The real question is:  Should I just install OSSV on the virtual machines and back them up to the SATA volume, which would treat them just a s physical machine?  What is the advantages in using SMVI over SnapVault?  I see that I can restore the whole VM with SMVI, but for file level the OSSV feature seems to be a little more user friendly.  Needless to say easier on my department to know where to get the backups as well.

Thoughts?

Thanks

Slade Hornick

Texas Farm Bureau

3 REPLIES 3

hadrian

SMVI will be able to restore your VMs from a full VM failure faster than OSSV.  The SnapVault going to the SATA is an efficient way to leverage the SATA disk for long-term online backup retention.  Most of the time when you need to restore a full server from backup, it is within a few days of the issue, not from a backup three weeks ago.

Why not use both?

SMVI with local snapshots with short retention for fast full VM restores

OSSV to SATA for longer-term single file restore