Microsoft Virtualization Discussions

Powershell Healthchecck

Joe_Bailey

Hey Team,

I'm trying to put together a powershell script to run a healthcheck on a NetApp Environment and output a document, similar to the way NetAppDOCS works.

I'm new to PS and frankly have no idea where to start, any suggestions on how to get going?

I want to check things like capacity, efficiency, etc.  My goal is to generate a report from a system that doesn't have ASUP turned on that i could hand to a customer so show them the state of their environment...

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

DS3Sharp

Joe,

I am working on a script to check our systems health daily.

https://github.com/ds3sharp/NetappHealthCheck

Feel free to use any / all parts.

-hth

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

cole

Hi Joe.  I'm the developer of NetAppDocs and I'd be interested in seeing the type of output you are looking to produce. Does NetAppDocs not cover what you are wanting to report on now? Feel free to contact me directly if you want to discuss further.

Thanks,

Jason

Joe_Bailey

Hi Jason,

I am looking for something more oriented as an overall system health report.  Something that reports on the storage efficiency, capacity and could be used as an actionable reference for improving the overall health and efficiency of the user.

I do a lot of public sector work that puts me in front of both 7M and CDOT clusters that are secure and unable to send autosupports which already provide that functionality and this type of report is something I get asked for quite often so I was hoping to automate it.

I'd like to be able to show space savings on volumes that already have some form of efficiency enabled, estimated savings on volumes that don't, current used / available capacity and perhaps a bit of a performance timelime all dumped into a .doc or .xls I could just hand to a customer.