VMware Solutions Discussions

What is the expected disk performance?

PAF_SKOVAS

I am new to NetApp, and are running my first installation. My challenge now is to find out when to say to the guys who installed it "ok, fine, everything works as expected, thank you for your help". Because I can't find information about what disk performance it would be reasonable to expect from my new NAS.

Please see the attached PDF for my performance comparison. I wonder if it is normal that my NetApp is far slower than a locally attached RAID 5 with 4 disks.

Actually, I would expected to get a transfer rate near the full bandwidth of the 10 GB storage network, as the NetApp has many more disks in its arrays (aggregates).

I have not been able to find a performance test with NetApp and VMware which shows approximately what to expect in megabytes per second. I guess NetApp or VMware has such a reference document somewhere, but where do I find it?

I have tested with netperf that the 10Gb network is actually able to transfer near its theoretical bandwidth between a VM and a physical host. However, it would be useful to have a similar tool at the NetApp filer to verify the network bandwidth without generating any disk i/o, does such a tool exist?

Peter 🙂

6 REPLIES 6

aborzenkov

Without knowing

- concurrency (how many threads were running in parallel)

- queue depth for each thread (number of outstanding requests)

- IO request size

- read/write ratio

for each test it is hard to even start guessing ...

PAF_SKOVAS

In my test I am using PassMark performanceTest 7.0's disk test with its default settings. It is a very well-known tool in general pc benchmarking, and is suitable in comparing a virtual machine's general performance to a physical machine.

For now, I am not so interested in the maximum performance with many concurrent threads, at some queue depth and a certain request size - it quickly gets very teorethical.